19
May
08

falling behind cool – updated*

No matter how hard you try, it is always difficult to keep up with cool (especially if you’re a geek, like me).

Sometimes, you just have to be honest with yourself and realize that you think the thing everyone else says is cool is really dumb. If you’re really interested in trendSETTING, you don’t feel the need to follow a trend – only to do your own thing.

If I were in high school today, my assessment of wearing your pants around your thighs as being incredibly impractical and stupid would determine my sensibility not to follow that trend. (My inclination is more to push them over and run, just to watch them try and give chase.)

Other times, the timing isn’t right. As huge as the Smiths were among the music intelligentsia in the mid-80’s, it took me about five years past the trend to really get into them.

Then there are cases in which you just don’t have access. The case to which I refer is Flight of the Conchords. I’ve heard much about it, and have been told on more than one occasion that I need to watch it. But only recently did someone sit down and show me a few of the video clips.

If you’re like me, you don’t have HBO, and you haven’t seen it yet, check out this clip (song bomb alert)…

And this… Hiphopopotamus vs. Rhymenoceros

In short, the show is about two New Zealanders – Bret and Jemaine – who come to New York to make it big as musicians. They’re poor and probably doomed to stay that way. Each show is infused with two or three music numbers written and performed by the duo.

I know, this is pretty old news. That’s kinda the point of this post. With all of the sources of cool, it can happen. But for those who haven’t checked this out, season one is available on DVD, and season two isn’t far behind. Definitely worth the rent.

And, in doing some research, I just noticed that the Conchords were in Milwaukee at the Pabst Theater… LAST WEEK. Dammit!

*Update: I was just informed by my friend Jen that Johnny Depp was reportedly at the Conchords show in Milwaukee, too. Meaning, I “…lost out twice.” Because I’m sure I would have been seated next to him.

1 Response to “falling behind cool – updated*”



Leave a Reply

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

RSS feed


