05
Jun
08

keepin’ it scandanavian

From Stockholm to Oslo…

I spent my junior year of college at Warwick University in Coventry, England (the birthplace of ska – Specials, Madness, The Selecter, etc.).

We traveled around a lot while we were there (it was that or attend school), and my favorite country was Norway. It was the most beautiful place I’d ever seen. See…?

That’s just a small sample of their power…

Anyway, I was over at Scissorkick (an electonic music blog) today, and lo and behold, another post – this time from Steve – about a Scandanavian musician. This post is about Joachim Dyrdahl – aka DiskJokke – a 28-year-old violinist who seems quite adept at putting together some pop-electronica.

You can listen to “Folk I Farta” here (with credit to Scissorkick… enable your popups for this one):

01%20Folk%20I%20Farta.mp3

In my opinion, the cut seems pretty cold and stark, but definitely dancefloor electonic. To me it sounds distinctly 80s in a lot of ways, but with present-time approaches and sensibilities. Either way, there are a lot of influences at work in his music, and I’m definitely motivated to check out more.

Hope you’re enjoying your trip to northern-most Europe.

0 Responses to “keepin’ it scandanavian”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS feed


