21
Aug
08

is there a word for when people ask themselves questions and answer them? i’m not sure.

Brett Favre may be the king of this, but many people do it in interviews… ask themselves questions and then answer them.

Was this blog worth reading? I don’t know. Is there a name for this habit of asking myself questions and answering them? I haven’t been able to find one. Do I think there probably is a name for it? Yes. Could any of you help me out with this? I’m sure you could. Do I think you think it’s worth your time? No.

Does this habit annoy me like nails on a chalkboard? Yes. Do I know why? No. Does asking myself questions mean that I think you have questions for me and I know what they are? Yes. Is it presumptive? Yes, to say the least. Do I think it’s a sign of arrogance? Usually.

Am I finished, yet? Yes.

4 Responses to “is there a word for when people ask themselves questions and answer them? i’m not sure.”


  1. 1 nicole
    August 21, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    In Scrubs, there was an episode where they titled these people “question talkers.”

  2. 2 sjb
    August 25, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    We’ve been through this before, you know. It’s called “hypophora.”

    See http://grammar.about.com/od/fh/g/hypophterm.htm

  3. 3 Jon
    August 25, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Yes, but I’m wondering if there are variations or styles sub-categorized in under the hypophora umbrella.

    Many of the examples you find online are people asking about an event or something they weren’t a part of. Brett Favre, in particular, asks himself questions about his feelings and opinions and then answers them.

    Is this egohypophora?

  4. 4 sjb
    August 25, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    It’s all the same thing. Think Rumsfeld; he was a great hypophorite. (Hypocrite, too, maybe, but that’s probably just piling on.)


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS feed


