28
Aug
08

getting tubes in my ears

Tomorrow morning, I’m going under the knife for an extremely simple surgery to put tubes in my ears (a myringotomy for you doctors at home). Way too much fluid in my right ear that won’t drain (I’ve been able to hear each pulse of blood to my brain for the past month… good to know it’s still getting blood, I guess), and my left one is marginally better.

Though it’s a routine surgery, I’m always nervous when it comes to my ears. Without my ears working, there’s obviously no music listening.

I sometimes wonder what effect my losing some of my hearing in 1992 had to do with it. I was seeing the Buzzcocks here in Madison and got stuck next to the speakers on the right side of the stage. I couldn’t hear for an entire day afterward and found out later that week that I had lost some hearing.

Like most people who don’t want others to make the same stupid mistakes that they did, I would recommend to all that you use earplugs during most all concert events you choose to enjoy.

Anyway, have a good labor day weekend, all. Here’s Tori Amos’ celebratory Labor Day song, “Happy Workers.”

0 Responses to “getting tubes in my ears”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS feed


