07
Sep
08

getting tubes in the ears – update number two

Just to get you up to speed, I had tubes put in my ears in February 2007. I did this to solve a bunch of hearing, pressure and dizziness issues (some would say the last one wasn’t solved).

Earlier in August, the one in the left ear came out (which they’re supposed to do, as the body generally tries to reject such things). The right one became clogged, and I could hear, in my right ear, my pulse very clearly. I decided to have new tubes put in, since I had enjoyed a year-and-a-half or problem-free hearing.

On August 29, I had the surgery. The doctor decided to leave the left one alone, since it was healed, and I hadn’t really had any problems in it. He put a tube in the right one, but it was clogged within a day.

Last Friday, I went to have the right ear checked, and the tube had already come out and was sitting on the right eardrum. He used a tweezer-like thing and pulled it out (which hurt a lot). Turns out that what clogged the ear prior was a polyp on the eardrum caused by the last tube.

So, we’re heading into the launch of a music website, and here I am freaking out about my hearing.

The current state is that my left ear is starting to sound like a blown speaker (or, more specifically, the sound Neo’s scream makes when he takes the pill in the Matrix), and my right ear is back to pulsatile tinnitus (constantly hearing your own pulse… and it’s accurate).

Not sure how I’m going to proceed, but I’m thinking I’m going to get the tubes again. I’d really like to get this sorted out before we launch this site. I’m not sure irony is the right word for this happening as I get ready to truly enter into a career in the music industry, but the timing is definitely strange to me.

My apologies for all of those who are observing how off-topic this is from the launch of our site. But since I first mentioned it, I’ve gotten a lot of supportive email (thank you), and so I thought I’d put the update here.

I’ll try and keep them shorter from here.

Last Friday,

0 Responses to “getting tubes in the ears – update number two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

RSS feed


