03
Nov
08

now back to swedish pop with jens lekman

A friend of mine just sent me a video for the song, “The Opposite of Hallelujah,” by Swedish-popster, Jens Lekman.

Searching my memory, it seems I’d heard this name before, but I was certainly not familiar with his music. But this song was enough to pique my interest, so I looked further.

In my opinion, the song that was sent actually ended up being one of my lesser favorites from Lekman. To me, his songs sounded like a 2008 version of Marc Almond, of Soft Cell fame (you know… “Tainted Love”). The voice sounds even more like Stephen Merritt of Magnetic Fields, and the lyric structure has that Morrissey-reading-a-phone-book feel.

Lekman’s music has a very suave, polished feel to me. Yet, they maintain clever lyrics and an indie production about them.

The best song I’ve uncovered from Lekman is actually “You Are the Light.” I think it best shows off his lyrics, which I think are really interesting and encourages very vivid imagery. Here’s the opening lyric to “You Are the Light.”

“Yeah I got busted
So I used my one phone call
To dedicate a song to you on the radio”

And here’s the video…

2 Responses to “now back to swedish pop with jens lekman”


  1. 1 Jim
    November 4, 2008 at 9:44 am

    His Madison show at Music Hall last year (or was it early this year?) was one of the most enjoyable live shows I’ve seen.

  2. 2 Tim
    November 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    The best part of the video is that he’s wearing a suit of armor – which he apparently wore to paint a dirty word on his girlfriend’s dad’s mercedes. Vivid imagery indeed.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS feed


