Archive for December 4th, 2008

04
Dec
08

obama holiday fleece available now

fleece_slp

Not sure why Obama is still needing to raise money (he’s about the only thing in government with a surplus), but it seems to me, given the potential government bailouts, that the copy should read:

“Make a Donation Today and Get Your Official Obama Fleecing”

[Can’t believe their marketing team, who barely made a mistake over two years, didn’t see that one coming a mile away.]

04
Dec
08

when you get caught between the moon and new york city (dudley moore? who knew?)

Last night, I was watching a couple episodes of the 1960s British comedy show “Not Only… But Also…” The show starred Dudley Moore – most famous for obsessing over Bo Derek in “10” or playing a drunk in “Arthur” – and Peter Cook – probably most famous in America for his role as the priest in “Princess Bride,” although more famous in England as a comedian and skit writer.

The show was one of several iterations of the Moore/Cook comedy team, and their work stands the test of time pretty well. This skit is one of their more famous ones, and pretty good (despite some of the very cringe-inducing racial slurs that were definitely a sign of the times, but not the core of the joke (you’ve been warned))…

When I’m done with this, I’m going to head over to Amazon and pick up one of his CDs.

What prompted me to write about this, though, is that I had no idea that Dudley Moore had his own jazz trio (aptly named the Dudley Moore Trio), and that Dudley Moore was an absolutely amazing piano player. I knew he played piano, but he was an accomplished and renowned classical AND jazz piano player – a somewhat rare combination.

I usually write about indie and alternative music, but I do have a side of me pretty into jazz, and this was a great discovery. This was the only clip I could find from that time period, and he doesn’t quite show off the skills he does in several of the “Not Only… But Also” episodes, but it still represents his style and charm quite nicely…




December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS feed