02
Jul
09

someone great

On the day that Michael Jackson died, I got into my car to go home from work and popped on KEXP – 90.3 in Seattle. If you’re not familiar, go to their website. They’re the greatest radio station in the world, and if you listen to their live stream, I guarantee you’ll find it more interesting than any Pandora-type site.

Anyway, when I got in, they played a clip of someone talking about Michael Jackson and then played “Someone Great” by LCD Soundsystem.

I’m not sure why I knew this song, because I don’t own any of the albums. But I recognized it immediately and was captivated by the opening riff and then the lyrics.

I hadn’t seen it coming, but this turned out to be the perfect song for what had happened. It’s been awhile since I’d gone out and purchased a CD because of a song I’d heard on the radio. But I just did tonight.

Here’s the video. And the entire album’s worth getting, too, if you don’t already have it.

Incidentally, if you’re not familiar with LCD Soundsystem, their (his) claim to fame is creating a 45 minute song that was commissioned by Nike for runners to listen to in their walkman’s. (that’s right… I wrote walkman’s.) If you don’t have it, download it and run to it. It’s pretty solid.

1 Response to “someone great”


  1. 1 Jim
    July 2, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Green Day writes a lot of songs that were commissioned for ME to run to (90 seconds).


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS feed


